Mick Horton Issues Coventry Bees Statement

Mick Horton has issued a statement tonight regarding Coventry Bees speedway team who will not ride this season.

The statement is as follows:

“IT is with deep shock and disappointment that the club will not be racing this season.

This decision was made on Friday night at a meeting in Rugby that my fellow promoter Neil Watson attended.

There was no indication at all to suggest the future of Coventry Speedway was the subject of debate. In fact, the meeting covered far more important matters within the sport.

Their decision was relayed to me during that evening, and rightly or wrongly I waited for the BSPA press release which arrived Sunday morning. I read this at 11.00am and notified the riders at 11.16. I now accept I should have notified them sooner and can only apologise.

Only the night before, I attended the NSSC fans forum with Jim Lynch to give the fans an update on Brandon and to discuss the team and our plans for racing at Leicester. Like I say, I am still in shock with what has happened.

It was never going to be easy getting through this season but we were optimistic that the Coventry fans would still come and watch. With the funds available to the club, we estimated a break even figure of 800-900 fans which, with a good team like ours, was achievable. On top of this we had a promise of funding which the BSPA were involved in discussions with. Sadly, this promise did not materialise.

I accept fans are very frustrated and want to blame someone, and the finger can be pointed in several directions. I may be guilty in some eyes, but in my defence I can only state the facts:

1. I did not sell the stadium;
2. I did not remove the fixture and fittings;
3. I did not bring about the ongoing criminal proceeding that Brandon Estates are still pursuing.

I paid Mr Sandhu £200,000 plus VAT for the club and now I have lost it all. Am I bitter? Yes I am, but I know we are where we are, and the most important priority for me now is to do the right thing to ensure the Bees can come back next season stronger, and hopefully racing in Coventry. To do this I know I have to step aside and invite offers to take the club to the next level.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Cllr Michael Stokes who has been one of our greatest campaigners, his enthusiasm and desire to help both speedway and stocks has not gone unrecognised by the fans.

I would like to thank the riders for their continued loyalty to the club during unsettling times during the last few months, they are true professionals and I believe they will find teams sooner rather than later.

I would like to thank the sponsors and the staff who have stuck by us for many years, Buildbase, Teng Tools and NGK have been fantastic.

I want to thank my fellow promoter Neil Watson, who not only has been with me through my speedway days, he has helped me through some darkest times of my life – he is my friend.

A big thank-you to many of my fellow promoters who have supported me for many years.

I would like to thank the fans of one the greatest clubs in speedway, you have been the best for so many years.

Lastly I want to thank my family who have been by my side during all the good and the bad times at Coventry.

Mick Horton”

Horton’s statement is as follows: