Whitnash Town Win Coventry Telegraph Cup

Whitnash Town are the winners of the 125th Coventry Telegraph Cup Final after a 1-0 victory against Nuneaton Griff.

At the Ricoh Arena amid tight security, Nuneaton Griff from the MFL Premier Division took on Coventry Alliance Premier side Whitnash Town.
The Griff fielding former Sky Blue Tom Bates, had three early free kicks in the opening thirteen minutes with Whitnash having a Craig Watkin twenty yarder fly well wide.
Watkin forced Griff keeper George Woodward into a save with his legs before Paul Wilkinson fired wide in the 21st minute.
Griff, who last won the competition in 2009, won a 29th minute corner which came back to Ryan Millerchip who headed wide.
Millerchip and Bates both had chances but in the 39th minute, Whitnash broke down the right and James Footman ran to power a header past Woodward on his left hand side.
Callum Bell drove at Woodward and at the other end, Harry Dipper did well to grab the ball at the second attempt.
Dipper was out to deny Lee Hewitt in the 53rd minute of a game which saw Dipper twice blocking from Richard Powell.
Bates was replaced in the 57th minute and Harry Walker-Donovan blasted high and wide nine minutes later before a Griff corner was dealt with by the Whitnash defence.
Millerchip fired over from long range in a game which was ebbing away with Whitnash able to deal with what The Griff could muster.
The Griff had a header cleared from a corner with Woodward joining in the melee late on but it was Whitnash Town who won the 125th Coventry Telegraph Cup.
Whitnash Town: Harry Dipper, Calum Bell (Jack Taylor 79), Craig Watkin, Jamie Coleman, Lee Scott, James Footman, Ciaran Houston (Connor Smith 71) , Luke Wilson, Richard Powell, Paul Wilkinson, Ryan Billington (Daniel Nelson 84). Subs: Joe Wright, Ciaran O’Reilly.
Nuneaton Griff: George Woodward, Ryan Aston (Matt Brennan 68), Darren Hutchinson, Kyron Green, Ryan Millerchip, Chris Tullin, Reece Williams, Tyson Knight, Lew Hewitt (John Russell 74), Tom Bates (Matt Evans 57), Harry Walker-Dononvan.
Referee Kevin Buckley. Assistants Will Doyle and Luke Murphy
HT NGFC 0-1 WTFC  FT NGFC 0-1 WTFC Goal James Footman 39

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s